Had it not been for the sheer driving pleasure…


I have been visiting this particular place numerous time for the past years. That is for only one reason – I simply love beaches (got to be extra careful with the spelling) and their magical surrounding. Even though this particular place wouldn’t comply 100% by my definition and standard as a true beach, for the reason that I couldn’t find ‘keropok lekor‘ or ‘sata‘ in the vicinity for my heavenly consumption while sitting under a solitary palm tree. For a mere a one hour drive from my place, this is the nearest place I can have a dip in the sea and eased my beach addition a bit.

So last weekend my family and I packed up our thing and off we went to Bagan Lalang, a small fishing village in Sepang where they used to dumb all the dirty engine oil from the nearby F1 circuit into the rivers and painted the whole shoreline in black. No…no… I am just kidding. (This is probably a clear effect of doing things when you are in a jovial mode. Nobody seems to take thing seriously these days. Who wants to be serious anyway when the only serious thing in our life is how to have a humongous supadupa flat plasma TV than our neighbor next door).

Bagan Lalang has changed a lot since the last time I visited the place, that was 3 years ago. The major change in my opinion is its landscape. Suddenly the sleepy village and calm beach are transforming into becoming a tourist major attraction in years to come. You don’t have to go to the Kanggaroland anymore, we have our own Sepang Gold Coast at our doorstep. A lavishly man-made islets of floating bricks and cement they called a bungalow ala The Palm Islands of Dubai are under the construction close by. Very impressive looking pyramid-shaped structure and paradise island resort-style are the show of engineering and architectural modern marvel in plain display. With the cost estimated at 3 billion Malaysian Ringgit, the number of zero that follows the denomination is impressive indeed.

But something has never changed. The kampung folks and their lifestyle. At least for the time being. The fishing activities are still bustling with fishermen coming in and out of the moor with their sampan, the traditional ‘kelong‘ is still standing still for the avid anglers, there is a fish market that pack with fresh sea produces and sells local delicacies, plenty of affordable accommodation near to the beach and for the cheapskates and more adventurous one you can even ditch a tent and spent you night under the moon on the beach. Dining out may sounds a bit of the elite side, but finding a place to tickle your taste but is never a problem. You can find many restaurants run by the locals that cook tasteful dishes along the coastal line, that won’t cost a bomb.

I am not sure when I shall come again to this place. I wish this is not going to be the last. The natural beauty that nature has been presenting and allowing us to enjoy all this while is dwindling fast each time I gaze my eyes upon them. Modernization and commercialization are the two words that superficially justified by the mankind ever since to feed their endless greed. I hope mother nature won’t bleed and shed its tears. I hope we don’t live that long enough to see, hear and feel the earth dying.

Even though this is not a fountain of youth, dipping in the pool with these energetic kids has really regain back my youthfulness. If not because of having the thought that UV might retarded some of my skin cells and accelerates my aging processes, I might have slept and dined in this swimming pool forever.
Actually the sand that made up this beach is almost as fine and clean as the beaches on the coastal areas of the eastern peninsular. The feel of the soft sand under you feet really has the soothing effect on me. On the positive side, the sand reclamation for the development has turned the once muddy beach into a white sandy coastal area.

The knowledge is passed from generations to generations. It is good to educate the young and instill in their soft heart that we should preserve whatever God has created for the mankind. God creates everything perfectly and for a specific reason.

This lone fisherman scouring the beach floor, looking for ‘kepah‘. At the back is part of the development that is actively taking its shape. How long ‘kepah‘ will live in the spoilt environment?, that fisherman is probably wondering.

I tried my beachcombing skill and this is what I got. After 10 minutes, this is my own collection of the hidden treasure under the muddy sand.

Overly-excited to embark on the beach activities, my kids didn’t care less for an early breakfast in the hotel. At the end, they surrendered to their grumbling tummy and helped themselves with nasi lemak and telur goreng served as their brunch right under a coconut tree near to the beach.

I found local produces in this small market are really tempting and mouth watering. We ended up with box full of the gift from the sea at the back of my bonnet.

My youngest has started to develop from being a novice to an expert in kite flying. At least with the help of his attentive mummy.

Ice cream treat for the kids to cool off and end the day on the beach.
On the way back, I found this ‘lokan‘ sold by a local along the road not far from the beach. I didn’t expect to find this ‘lokan‘ in Bagan Lalang. This freshwater shells reminded me of my late grandfather who really good at collecting this mollucans in the river, which is abundance. They live in the muddy sandbank among other nipah inhabitants. Correctly cook, their taste is irresistible.

2 Responses to “Had it not been for the sheer driving pleasure…”

  1. This comment has been removed by the author.

  2. This comment has been removed by the author.

Leave a Reply

